🥐 Soul Snacks

A rude awakening.

Dear Snacker,

Without exaggeration, I would say 99% of the days I have lived since becoming a mother a little over ten years ago, have begun with some sort of absurdly belligerent awakening. If I had a dollar for the number of times I’ve been jolted out of a deep sleep first thing in the morning by a child screaming from their crib for no apparent reason, or by the sound of my door being swung open, banging into the wall behind it, opening my eyes to the dark outline of a nonsensical yammering tiny human, then I would have saved enough money to pay for a bouncer to stand in front of my bedroom and send my children back to their own fucking rooms until I was good and ready to see them. Can you imagine how awesome that would be? Since we all know that will never, ever happen and that children, no matter how mild-mannered or well-trained or consistent in their sleep, will go through phases of using completely offensive morning etiquette, I have decided to reject that unpleasant rousing as the official start of my day, and have introduced a new ritual of mentally starting my day after my first sip of coffee. I truly treasure that moment and, though short-lived, at least I know it is a moment I can control and enjoy. Bonus if I can see the sunlight streaming through my back door painting my kitchen floor yellow.

“Just the sip, just for a second, just to see how it feels.”

— Caitlin

There's more ➕
  • HOME - This week’s “HOME” piece is brought to you by Julie from Best Nest by Julie. This mom of two littles turned her passion into a professional organizing service to help moms live a life of simplicity and calm. At Best Nest by Julie, she helps people simplify their lives, reduce stress and create more peaceful and organized homes.

  • MAKE - It is my goal in life to make things like this that I can eat for snacks. HOMEMADE snacks, like, wow. Here is a recipe for Date and Walnut Energy Bites by @Christies.Lovestory. Mom of 3 growing kids, yoga teacher, and a creative home cook, Christie helps busy parents make simple and delicious meals.

  • INTIMACY - In this perspective piece we talk with Deb DeFanti, co-host of The Gap Girls, a podcast that dives headfirst into the wild world of parenting, aging, and everything in between. Deb as a seasoned mom, gives her answers to some questions that those of us who are in the thick of the little kid years are always dying to know.

  • This past week I’ve had gazillions of questions about my cool shades. They are Knockaround Sunglasses (the “Fast Lanes” in Neon Orange for $38) and you can find them here (for 15% off use code BIGTIMEADULTING).

  • The very best hydration packs. A must-try. Code BTA20 gets you 20% off.

I Genuinely wanna know 👍🏽 👎🏼

What’d you think of this week’s Soul Snacks?

Taking all feedback & suggestions to heart so please rate it below (you can also just send me an email by hitting Reply).

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.