🥯 Soul Snacks

The Voice Within

2 min read

Dear Snacker,

I like naps. I like thick, fragrance free moisturizers. I like mostly neutral or black clothing, I’ll make lots of attempts at wearing a color, and end up wearing neutrals. I like being alone a lot. I love being with my family. I like music, not chatter, during workouts. I like something sweet at the end of every meal. I like puzzles, but not board games. I like cold beers, but not really in the summer, because they get warm too fast. I like a cold room at night, but warm blankets, all year round. I like really hot showers. I love breakfast. I like entertaining people. I like biographies and works of non-fiction. I long for the day I can take a walk after dinner every night. I used to like big parties, but it was only because I was excited to see certain people that I wouldn’t have been brave enough to ask to hang out with otherwise. I prefer more intimate settings. I love observing strangers. My favorite person to hang out with is my husband. I feel my best when I’m dressed down, more than dressed up. I would rather talk than watch TV, and I like the morning more than the night.

I know what I like and what I don’t like, but somehow, when the influence of other people enters our thought process, we can sometimes lose our way. We become unsure of ourselves and we are afraid to be direct. Sometimes we are being polite, but often we feel self-conscious about being assertive, not only with our likes and dislikes, but with our ideas. I think, particularly as women, we defer to the group, and we should feel emboldened to break free when our hearts are telling us where to go. Here is a concept that has become pretty apparent to me lately: no one has all the answers and, for the most part, we are all going about life through a series of trial and error. Fuck the herd, trust your gut. There are no regrets when you listen to your inner voice.

— Caitlin

There's more ➕
  • THE PLAYLIST: Here is it! The most requested dance songs from my IG poll. Each song had to be requested more than once to be included (and I also had to like it enough to want to dance to it). Ta-Da! People’s Choice Dance Jams

  • THE LATEST POD (13 mins): Permission To Stop Over-Scheduling Your Kids with a cameo from economist Emily Oster

  • My favorite hydration brand, CURE, came out with kids hydration packs. The fruit punch is 😋. Code BTA20 gets you 20% OFF.

I Genuinely wanna know 👍🏽 👎🏼

What’d you think of this week’s Soul Snacks?

Taking all feedback & suggestions to heart so please rate it below (you can also just send me an email by hitting Reply).

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.