🍪 Soul Snacks

But really, how ARE you?

Dear Snacker,

Do you ever feel kinda like you’re a different person every day? Or more specifically, like you’re not even sure how you’re doing? I’ve noticed there is such ambiguity around my feelings since having kids. Everything feels dependent on them, and yet, everything with kids feels so uncertain. Every day they present new variables. That loss of predictability once you have kids can be hard to cope with – will someone barf in the car today? Will we sleep tonight? Who the fuck knows.

Sometimes I think that’s why I dance a lot - because I know it brings out a silly side in me, and I can predict the way I am going to feel after wilding out in my kitchen to a favorite song. Or why I work out - because it makes me feel stronger, physically and mentally, and I need that. I think my greatest lesson in raising kids is that life is truly about taking it one day at a time. Living today for what today is, not what you wanted it to be. In some ways that feels hard to accept, and in others, I am exceedingly grateful for the simplicity in it. Getting a snack now.

— Caitlin

There's more ➕
  • THE PLAYLIST: I’ve shared this playlist before but recently was reminded how awesome it is. In case you missed it the first time, here’s a pick-me-up playlist for you. The Drop-Off Dance Party

  • INTIMACY (this is a re-send from last week; apologies that so many of you had trouble viewing this great video): I saw Morgan talking on IG one day about how the mental load of motherhood can affect our libidos and I asked her to contribute a piece relating to that notion for Soul Snacks. I love how incredibly relatable and realistic her advice is. Check her out.

I Genuinely wanna know 👍🏽 👎🏼

What’d you think of this week’s Soul Snacks?

Taking all feedback & suggestions to heart so please rate it below (you can also just send me an email by hitting Reply).

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

/

Join the conversation

or to participate.